“Intellectual alienation is a creation of middle-class society. What i call middle-class society is any society that becomes rigidified in predetermined forms, forbidding all evolution, all gains, all progress, all discovery. I call middle-class a closed society in which life has no taste, in which the air is tainted, in which ideas and men are corrupt. And I think that a man who takes a stand against this death is in a sense revolutionary.” Frantz Fanon Black Skins, White Masks.


From what I know, which is not much, there is little work that compares Fanon with his European contemporaries. This is surprising because he shares much in common with Hegelian Marxism and Critical Theory.

In a very broad sense, I would argue that Fanon and Hegelian Marxism/ Critical Theory utillize Marx and Freud to criticize the dehumanizing effects of culture on humans, where culture turns humans into things through a fetishized process not captured by reified consciousness. I will explore this further in my dissertation or in articles

